Karate Is Better When You Share It

Writing Contributor: Christie McGowan
Student at Choe’s HapKiDo in Loganville

. . .

Training update: I recently passed another belt test! The success now allows me to enter yellow belt training!

The first few tries of practicing double inside kicks brought me back to ballet class, when trying to nail a series of single pirouettes. But unlike pirouettes that call for precision and poise, each spinning kick ended with loud yells from the gut. In the words of my friend Emily, who came to class with me a while ago, “It’s (karate) like angry ballet!”

Emily made the first day of yellow belt training memorable. As she is the first person to approach me about karate lessons, I couldn’t help but feel excited to bring her to class. After days of figuring out a mutual schedule and finding out that we’re both huge Harry Potter fans, she participated in her first day of karate training – and it is thanks to the free trial offered at Choe’s HapKiDo in Loganville. Her session had her stretch, kick, yell, somersault, and learn a couple of self-defense techniques. She mingled with my HapKiDo peers and found she liked them. She cannot wait to come back again!

Meeting new HapKiDo students is always a pleasure and sometimes brings me back to my first day. But I now know it is a different feeling when you help a friend on his/her first day. It definitely becomes a new topic/hobby to talk about and do.

For more information on how to start a free trial at Choe’s HapKiDo in Loganville, visit: http://www.loganvillekarate.com/index.php.

Leave a Reply

